Did You Know...

   

Berkeley mayor unrepentant on Marines: "We don't want them here"

Share
By Michelle Malkin  •  February 22, 2008 02:33 PM

I wrote about Move America Forward’s new ads pressuring the Berkeley City Council on its anti-Marines stance here. Joe Wierzbicki of MAF sends along this local news report from NBC 11 in the Bay Area. Watch it to see Mayor Tom Bates voicing his unrepentant view that the recruiters remain unwelcome:

“The actual recruiters–we’re not prepared to apologize to them. We don’t want them here.”

Councilwoman Betty Olds is prepared for the continuing backlash:

“I think it’ll keep on until we face the reality that we do owe them apology.”

Just a reminder: Defend your neighborhood military recruitment center. (There’s more on the trashing of the DC military recruitment station I mentioned the other day here.)

They’re not going away. You shouldn’t either.

Contact info:
Mayor – Tom Bates
2180 Milvia Street, Berkeley, CA 94704
Email: mayor@ci.berkeley.ca.us
TEL: (510) 981-7100
FAX: (510) 981-7199
TDD: (510) 981-6903
Office Hours: Mon-Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

====================
CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS
====================
Linda Maio
Phone: (510) 981-7110
FAX: (510) 981-7111
Email: lmaio@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Darryl Moore
Phone: (510) 981-7120
Email: dmoore@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Maxwell Anderson
Phone: (510) 981-7130
Email: manderson@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Dona Spring
Phone: (510) 981-7140
Email: spring@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Laurie Capitelli
Phone: (510) 981-7150
Email: lcapitelli@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Betty Olds
Phone: (510) 981-7160
Email: olds@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Kriss Worthington
Phone: (510) 981-7170
Email: kworthington@ci.berkeley.ca.us

Gordon Wozniak
Phone: (510) 981-7180
Email: GWozniak@ci.berkeley.ca.us
(He’s a good guy–voted against giving Code Pink special protest privileges.)

blog comments powered by Disqus
~ For the latest breaking news, be sure to join Michelle's Email List:
Posted in: Berkeley

Berzerkley vs. America, Part 99,999

December 8, 2010 01:17 PM by Michelle Malkin

Another day, another bizarre UC Berkeley tantrum

May 13, 2010 10:21 AM by Michelle Malkin

“Four dancers dressed as cornstalks, including one of the strikers, twirled and gestured ceremonially to a percussion beat.”


Categories: Berkeley, Education

Follow me on Twitter Follow me on Facebook